LBF International Excellence Awards 2018: Shortlist Revealed

LBF International Excellence Awards 2018: Shortlist Revealed

The shortlist for The London Book Fair International Excellence Awards 2018 has been announced, with Brazil leading the way with five nominations, closely followed by USA with four, and a record-high 27 countries represented overall.

The awards, which are held in partnership with the UK Publishers Association (PA) and sponsored by Hytex, celebrate excellence in seventeen categories, including international publishing, bookselling, academic and scholarly publishing, children’s publishing, literary translation and digital innovation. In each award category, the judging panel was comprised of experts in that sector.

The first-ever Audiobook Publisher Award will see a battle between KaiShu Story Media & Culture Co (China), Penguin Random House (USA) and (Brazil). Biblo Tøyen (Norway), Dokk1 (Denmark), National Library of Latvia (Latvia) and São Paulo Library (Brazil) will all hope to take home the crown for the new Library of the Year Award. Retailers from across the world are nominated for the Bookstore of the Year Award, sponsored by Gardners, with Carturesti (Romania), Timbooktoo (Gambia) and The Uppsala English Bookshop (Sweden) all shortlisted.

Brazil (5), USA (4), Canada (2), Australia (2), Poland (2) and the MF Baltics countries Lithuania (5), Latvia (5) and Estonia (3) all received multiple entries. Gambia is represented for the first time in the award’s five-year history, for Bookstore of the Year, sponsored by Gardners.

Jacks Thomas, Director, The London Book Fair, said: It is fantastic to see 27 countries represented in the 2018 International Excellence Awards shortlist, a record-high in the awards five-year history which I think highlights the growth, breadth and diversity of these awards and the global book industry showcased at The London Book Fair. The impressive developments of the industry are illustrated by the fantastic achievements of all the nominees – their determination and passion to bring books to a wider audience through their initiatives is inspiring.  I’m delighted to welcome the shortlistees to The London Book Fair in April to give them a platform to showcase their success.

Stephen Lotinga, Chief Executive, the Publishers Association, said: We are proud to support The London Book Fair International Excellence Awards. This is a brilliant shortlist that exemplifies the global nature of the publishing industry. It’s great to see audiobook publishers now represented with their own award and to see excellence across the industry highlighted and celebrated through these awards.

The Academic and Professional Publisher Award

  • Brill Publishers (Netherlands)
  • Editorial Atheneu (Brazil)
  • International Labour Organization (ILO) Publications (Switzerland)

The Audiobook Publisher of the Year (new)

  • KaiShu Story Media & Culture Co (China)
  • Penguin Random House Audio (USA)
  • (Brazil)

The Bookstore of the Year Award, sponsored by Gardners

  • Carturesti (Romania)
  • Timbooktoo (Gambia)
  • The Uppsala English Bookshop (Sweden)

The Educational Initiatives Award

  • Agents of Discovery (Canada)
  • Lughati (UAE)
  • Quirky Kid (Australia)

The Educational Learning Resources Award, supported by The China Publishing & Media Journal

  • Ideas Roadshow (Canada)
  • Quirky Kid (Australia)
  • Sviesa (Lithuania)

The Library of the Year Award (new)

  • Biblo Tøyen (Norway)
  • Dokk1 (Denmark)
  • National Library of Latvia (Latvia)
  • São Paulo Library (Brazil)

The Literary Translation Initiative Award

  • American Literary Translators Association (USA)
  • Geopoetika (Serbia)
  • Lontar Foundation (Indonesia)

The Literary Agent Award

  • Deborah Harris, The Deborah Harris Agency (USA)
  • Gloria Gutierrez, Balcells Agency (Spain)
  • Tuttle-Mori Agency (Japan)

The Literary Festival Award

  • Conrad International Literary Festival (Poland)
  • Druskininkai Poetic Fall (Lithuania)
  • George Town Literary Festival (Malaysia)

The Rights Professional Award

  • Jennifer Powell, Scholastic (USA)
  • Helena Koch, Estonian Children’s Literature Centre (Estonia)
  • Stefano Milano, Codice Edizioni (Italy)

Eligible for entries from Market Focus Baltics only:
The Market Focus Baltics Adult Trade Publisher Award

  • Alma Littera (Lithuania)
  • Dienas Grāmata (Latvia)
  • Zvaigzne ABC Publishers (Latvia)

The Market Focus Baltics Education Publisher Award (new)

  • Avita Publishing (Estonia)
  • Sviesa (Lithuania)
  • Zvaigzne ABC Publishers (Latvia)

The Market Focus Baltics Children’s and Young Adult Publisher Award

  • Kake Make (Alma Littera) (Lithuania)
  • Liels un Mazs (Latvia)
  • Päike ja Pilv (Estonia)

Eligible for entries from all countries, including the UK:
Accessible Books Consortium International Excellence Award: Publisher

  • Constantine Editores (Mexico)
  • Hachette Livre (France)
  • Taylor & Francis (UK)

Accessible Books Consortium International Excellence Award: Initiative

  • Daisy Forum of India (India)
  • Dolphin Computer Access (UK)
  • Fundação Dorina Nowill para Cegos (Brazil)
  • Typefi (Australia)

The Quantum Publishing Innovation Award

  • Publica (Latvia)
  • SuperMemo (Poland)
  • Novellic (UK)
  • TAG Literary Experiences (Brazil)

Eligible for entries from the UK only:
Inclusivity in Publishing Award, supported by the Publishers Association

  • Cassava Republic
  • HarperCollins
  • Penguin Random House
  • Saqi Books

Eligible for entries from China only:
The Bookstore Spirit of China Award, sponsored by Gardners

  • Academic & Professional Book Centre
  • Fangsuo Bookstore
  • Sanlian Taofen Bookstore

The winners of several other Awards will also be presented on the night including: The Simon Master’s Chairman Award, The Market Focus Baltics Cultural and Literary Initiative Award, The Association for Publishing Education (APE) Student Awards and The LBF Trailblazer Awards. The London Book Fair Lifetime Achievement Award will also be presented at the ceremony.

The LBF International Excellence Awards ceremony is an invitation-only event, and takes place on Tuesday 10 April 2018 in The Conference Centre, Olympia, London.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *