2018 Trailblazer Shortlist Unveiled

2018 Trailblazer Shortlist Unveiled

Thirty trailblazers shortlisted as LBF celebrates young talent in publishing

The Shortlist for the 2018 Trailblazer Awards is unveiled today, celebrating 30 publishing professionals under the age of 30 ‘who are demonstrating innovation and ambition in the book industry.’

The full shortlist is:

Abiola Bello, Co-Founder at The Author School, Co-Founder at Hashtag press
Alexandra Holmes, Senior Production Editor, Jessica Kingsley Publishers
Amy Durant, Co-Founder, Sapere Books
Anna Cunnane, Senior Data Executive, Abrams & Chronicle Books Ltd
Becky Harrison, Engagement Manager, Comma Press
Daniel Postlethwaite, Social Media Executive/App developer, Matchbook
Elle Waddington, Rights Executive, Stripes Books
Clare Povey, Writers & Artists, Bloomsbury Publishing
Franca Driessen, Senior Marketing Executive, Oxford University Press
Hannah Todd, Assistant Editor, Canelo, Co-Founder of Hello me, it’s you
Hatty Stiles, Senior Marketing Manager and Author Relations Manager, Amazon Publishing
Helena Sheffield, Marketing and Communications Manager, Audiobooks, Penguin Random House
Jack Butler, Editor, Amazon Publishing
Jessica Farrugia, Publicist, Bluebird, Pan Macmillan
Kara Rennie, Social Media and Community Manager, Bookseller’s Association
Katie Seaman, Fiction Editor, Ebury
Lamorna Elmer, Campaigns Manager, Granta
Laura Jones, Publisher, 404 Ink
Lily Bowden, Campaigns Manager, Jessica Kingsley Publishers
Louise Newton, Audio Assistant, Little, Brown Book Group
Marissa Koors, Associate Editor, Wiley-Blackwell
Natalie Shaw, Publicity and Marketing Assistant, Granta
Natasha Onwuemezi, Reporter, The Bookseller
Phoebe Morgan, Commissioning Editor, HarperCollins UK
Rachel Kennedy, Account Manager, Midas PR
Richard Simpson, Operations Director, Sapere Books
Sarah Cleave, Publishing Manager, Comma Press
Stacey Halls, Sub-Editor, Fabulous Magazine
William Horsnell, Marketing Executive, Jessica Kingsley Publishers
Zoe Plant, Senior Literary Scout, Daniela Schlingmann Literary Scouting Ltd.

Now in their third year, the awards are run by The London Book Fair, in partnership with the Publishers Association, supported by the Society of Young Publishers and BookBrunch, and sponsored by The Publishing Training Centre.

Five winners will be selected by a judging panel and announced at a ceremony at the Groucho Club on 26 February, hosted by The London Book Fair and SYP.

Jacks Thomas, Director at The London Book Fair, said: “As ever, the standard of entries has been high in 2018, and this year’s shortlist truly demonstrates the incredible talent that is prevalent across our industry. Narrowing down the shortlist to five winners will be extremely challenging for our panel of judges.”

The five winners will each receive: a six-month membership to the Groucho Club, a one-year subscription to BookBrunch, VIP entry to The London Book Fair, and access to The Club at the Ivy’s LBF pop-up, free entry to the Quantum Conference 2018, and an invitation to join the PA and LBF at a Book Society Dinner.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *