Award ceremony of the 2016 EU Prize for Literature

Award ceremony of the 2016 EU Prize for Literature

Brussels, 31 May 2016

On this special night, prepare to have your senses awakened by spoken prose and written verses from master storytellers. With this year’s best emerging authors in Europe, you will follow a young boy’s family emigration story, get mixed-up by a breakup letter and be sent in a disconnected world filled with the debris of past histories. Roam through the hardships of overcoming loss and see how a grandmother’s death sparks tales with tangled ends. Hear how a sudden, unexpected visit disrupts the lives of everyone in town and the trials and tribulations of coming of age in the countryside. Experience the intensity of the bonds we form towards the land and our birthplace, follow a mother and daughter’s life in peace time and in wars, and witness a series of events that lifts everyday life out of the ordinary.

The twelve talented authors will read out a passage of their book and receive their award during the gala ceremony of the 2016 EU Prize for Literature (EUPL), to be held at Concert Noble, in Brussels.

This year’s winners are:

  • Tanja Stupar-Trifunović, (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
  • Christophe Van Gerrewey, (Belgium)
  • Antonis Georgiou, (Cyprus)
  • Benedict Wells, (Germany)
  • Bjørn Rasmussen, (Denmark)
  • Paavo Matsin, (Estonia)
  • Jesús Carrasco, (Spain)
  • Selja Ahava, (Finland)
  • Nenad Joldeski, (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)
  • Gast Groeber, (Luxembourg)
  • Claudiu M. Florian, (Romania)
  • Jasmin B. Frelih, (Slovenia)

The awards will be presented by Tibor NAVRACSICS, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, together with Jet BUSSEMAKER, Minister of Culture for the Dutch Presidency of the EU. The ceremony will also be attended by Members of the European Parliament’s Culture and Education Committee, and by other leading figures from the world of literature, culture and politics.

Organised by the European Writers’ Council, the Federation of European Publishers and the European and International Booksellers Federation with the support of the European Commission, the competition is open to authors in the 37 countries involved in the EU Creative Europe programme1. The winners, nominated by national juries, will receive €5,000 and will be given priority to receive EU translation grants through the support programme for Europe’s cultural and creative sectors, Creative Europe.

The translation of more than 56 EUPL winners’ books since 2009 already allowed them to be read by a much larger audience throughout Europe.

“The award ceremony for the 2016 winners of the European Union Prize for Literature marks the beginning of a recognition and celebration of the literary talent of new writers from many European countries”, said Dr. Nick Yapp, President of the European Writers’ Council, “It is one of those key moments when creativity is recognised and applauded. It is proof that our culture, on which so much of our enjoyment of life depends and on which so much of our economy is based, is in good hands. The European Writers’ Council is delighted to play its part in the organisation of this event, and wishes a creative future to those writers we celebrate today.”

Pierre Dutilleul, President of the Federation of European Publishers, added: “The Awards Ceremony is an opportunity to applaud the EUPL winning authors and to celebrate the emerging literary scene in Europe, emphasizing the importance of promoting the cultural diversity in our continent and a transnational circulation of it”.

Jean-Luc Treutenaere, co-President of EIBF, stated: “The yearly European Union Prize for Literature Awards Ceremony is a unique opportunity to celebrate European values, among which our attachment to European culture, and express our enthusiasm for this fantastic diverse array of literary talents emerging every year for the greatest pleasure of European readers. Booksellers look forward to making those titles available in their bookshops in as many translations and countries as possible!”

One of the winners will also benefit from one month’s residency in Brussels thanks to our partner Passa Porta bookshop.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.